Implementing and Managing Windows Server 2008 Clustering


Before attending this course, students must have:
  • Experience with network load balancing
  • Basic knowledge of clustering theory
  • Experience in an enterprise environment managing applications and network topologies
  • Basic troubleshooting skills

Course Outline

Module 1: Introduction to Clusters

This module provides an overview of cluster concepts and functionality.

Module 2: Introduction to Microsoft Windows Server 2008 Failover Clusters

This module describes key features and functionality of the Windows Server 2008 failover clusters.

Module 3: Preparing to Install a Failover Cluster

This module explains the prerequisite requirements and planning required to install a Windows failover cluster.

Module 4: Overview of Failover Cluster Storage Requirements

This module explains storage fundamentals and how to plan and implement storage solutions for failover clusters.

Module 5: Configuring a Failover Cluster

This module explains how to install and manage a failover cluster.

Module 6: Configuring Cluster Resources and Server Roles

This module explains how to configure cluster resources and how to cluster common Window Server roles and applications.

Module 7: Maintaining Microsoft Failover Clusters

This module explains how to maintain and troubleshoot failover clusters.

Module 8: Implementing Geographically Dispersed Clusters

This module explains geographically dispersed clusters and the challenges that they present. In addition, this module describes how to implement a multi-subnet cluster using Windows Server 2008.

Module 9: Implementing Network Load Balanced Clusters

This module explains how to install and maintain network load balanced (NLB) clusters.

At Course Completion

After completing this course, students will be able to implement, maintain, and troubleshoot clusters in their enterprise environment